AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 5th July 2015

Flying Fernando Flawless Again In Bendigo Cup

By GRV's Website

Fernando Bale (box 3) was faultless from first stride to finish line in the 2015 Southern Cross Ten Bendigo Cup (425m) on Friday night recording his fifteenth straight victory.

It was the twenty-third victory of the of the 28 month-old greyhound's career and the \$47,000 winner's purse propelled his prize money beyond \$680,000 sparking debate about his place among greyhound racing's all-time greats.



Fernando Bale wins the Bendigo Cup (All Pics Clint Anderson)

Starting as a \$1.15 favourite, the Andrea Dailly-trained Fernando Bale didn't put a paw wrong running to a strong victory in 24.401 secs – just outside the 23.386 secs record he set last week.

Continued on Page 2 ...

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABING ASSOCIATION

Shared Equity (\$11.20) ran on gallantly for second, while Breathing Fire (\$65.10) finished third.

Social media channel, Twitter, went into to meltdown following the race with Fernando Bale trending at number six Australia wide.

The win prompted many big calls, with people tweeting that Fernando Bale is the best greyhound ever to grace the track.

Handler George Dailly was reluctant to get caught up in the hype, however.

"I find it very hard to compare greyhounds from different eras. We've had some champion dogs in our kennel over the years, but we've never had one that has won 15 in a row, so based on that fact he's the best we've had," Dailly said.

"He's so consistent that I reckon he is capable of winning group races from 300m up to 600m."

Dailly indicated that Fernando Bale will now be set for the Group 1 Maturity Classic (525m) at The Meadows later this month.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Billo's Pick (\$15.20), 5th Mepunga Armagh (\$24.20), 6th Ronray Spirit (\$9.40), 7th Fearless John (\$43.50) and 8th Paua To Roar (\$35.80).



Fernando Bale with George Dailly

Fernando Road is raced by Paul Wheeler and trained by Andrea Dailly he is a White & Dark Brindle dog whelped March 2013 by Kelos Fusileer from Chloe Bale (Malawi's Prince x Burgundy Bale). Fernando Bale has won 23 of his 28 starts and has been placed on two occasion after the first prize of \$250,000 for the Easter Egg his current stake earnings stand at \$681,840.

Continued on Page 3 ...

Listed below is the Bendigo Cup honour roll. The club first raced at the Eaglehawk circuit just out of Bendigo in the 50's. The Cup was run over 400 yards, but for a few years in the 70's saw it go over the 528 metres. When the club moved to Lords Raceway in 1988 the race was conducted over the current sprint distance of 430 metres ever year except 2001 when it was run over the middle distance of 545 metres. A number of top horse-shoe dogs have won the cup over the many years it has been the club's flag ship event. This was the second Cup for 2014 to allow for the feature to move on the calendar to an early July date from this point on and remain at Lords Raceway over the popular distance of 425 metres.

1957 Cantee, 1958 Taranyka, 1959 Slippermee, 1960 Eager Flight, 1961 Sweet Mandy, 1962 Unknown, 1963 Unknown, 1964 Unknown, 1965 Chief Anama, 1966 Unknown,1967 Unknown, 1968 Rebelaire, 1969 Unknown, 1970 Andrew Takiri, 1971 Melbourne View, 1972 Leicester Edie, 1973 Borough Cheer, 1974 Proper Duke, 1975 Sidanna, 1976 Sue Silin, 1977 Worooa Jack, 1978 Fabey Forbes, 1979 "Not Held",1980 Slick O'Leary, 1981 Official, 1982 Welcome Jag, 1983 Meatworker, 1984 Bronze Wing, 1985 Newstone Flyer, 1986 Stamp Of Learod, 1987 Buka Sunset, 1988 Naphlio, 1989 Mets Man, 1990 Hard Rain, 1991 He's Jake, 1992 Belmont, 1993 Tivoli Man, 1994 Thorgil Tex, 1995 "Not Held", 1996 True Type, 1997 Sarah's Deano, 1998 Lansley Bale, 1999 Tom's Legacy, 2000 Whitten's Legend, 2001 Renzo Bale, 2002 Hey Brother, 2003 Puzzle Prize, 2004 Brumby Lad, 2005 Smack Wallop, 2006 Dragway Flex, 2007 Airbourne Bale, 2008 El Galo, 2009 Taipan Bale, 2010 Latifi Jiam, 2011 Enry Walt and 2012 Peggy May, 2013 Ronan Izmir 2014 Paw Licking (1) Warrior King (2).

> For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838